Non-Profit Groups Call for Secretary of State to Abandon Plans to Silence Speech



our america initiative



















July 11, 2017

To Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver:

On behalf of our organizations and the tens of thousands of New Mexico citizens we represent, we urge you to remove language taken from SB 96 from your recently-released proposed rules. Your proposal is an attempt to circumvent the legislative process and silence citizens through executive rulemaking.

Freedom of association is a bedrock of our society, and your rules, as proposed, threaten this fundamental right. Our groups – which represent citizens of New Mexico from all walks of life and across the ideological spectrum – are gravely concerned about the impact of these rules. Specifically, we believe these rules will stifle our ability to freely communicate our ideas and educate citizens across the state on critical public policy issues.

The rules about independent expenditures are of utmost concern. If these proposed rules become final, people will be forced to report their personal information just for supporting a cause they feel passionately about. The names and addresses of citizens of New Mexico would be put on a searchable government database available to anyone, anytime online – opening them up to intimidation and harassment by those who may disagree with them on an issue. This will effectively silence supporters of non-profit groups and charitable organizations across the ideological spectrum.

Every New Mexican has the right to support the causes they believe without fear of intimidation or harassment. We urge you to protect the freedom of speech of our supporters and remove any language taken from SB 96 during from your final rules.

Signed,

Mark Lucas, Executive Director, Concerned Veterans for America Former New Mexico Governor Gary Johnson, Honorary Chairman, Our America Initiative Mark J. Fitzgibbons, President of Corporate Affairs, American Target Advertising Luke Hilgemann, Chief Executive Officer, Americans for Prosperity Burly Cain, New Mexico State Director, Americans For Prosperity Norman Singleton, President, Campaign for Liberty Kent Lassman, President, Competitive Enterprise Institute Richard Morrison, Senior Editor, Competitive Enterprise Institute Andrew Clark, Executive Director, Generation Opportunity Jorge Lima, Executive Director, The LIBRE Initiative Birga Alden, Executive Director, Love Inc of Albuquerque Carla J. Sontag, President & Founder, New Mexico Business Coalition Charles Frohman, Grassroots Director, Our America Initiative Jason Vaillancourt, Board Member, Our America Initiative Ranota Banks, Board Member, Our America Initiative John E. Clemons, Executive Director, Protect Americans Now Gary Coppedge, Board Member, Protect Americans Now Ryan Perry, Board Member, Protect Americans Now John Richardson, Board Member, Protect Americans Now Megan Richardson, Board Member, Protect Americans Now Ken Swaim, Board Member, Protect Americans Now Paul J. Gessing, President, Rio Grande Foundation Michael A. Aguilar, Executive Director, Southern New Mexico Business Alliance Gary Coppedge, Board Member, Southern New Mexico Business Alliance Don Biad, Board Member, Southern New Mexico Business Alliance Dan Schnieder, Board Member, Southern New Mexico Business Alliance Russell Allen, Board Member, Southern New Mexico Business Alliance Tom Hutchison, Board Member, Southern New Mexico Business Alliance

Blair Dunn, Partner, Western Agriculture, Resource & Business Advocates