CAPITOL OFFICE

State Capitol
201 West Capitol Avenue
Room 118-CC
Jefferson City, MO 651016806
Tele: (573) 751-1484
E-Mail:
Tony.Lovasco@house.mo.gov

Legislative Assistant

Seth York E-Mail: Seth.York@house.mo.gov



MISSOURI HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES Tony Lovasco

State Representative District 64

Senator Roy Blunt 260 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Senator Blunt,

Various media outlets are reporting that you are one of ten Republican Senators who have agreed in principle to support Senator Chris Murphy's proposed firearms legislation. As described by Senator Murphy himself, this plan would involve using Federal taxpayer dollars to incentivize States to pass "Extreme Risk Protection Order" laws, more appropriately known as Red Flag Gun Confiscation.

While these types of laws come in a variety of forms, they all share a common attribute: they authorize the forcible seizure of firearms from people without requiring them to be convicted of a crime. In fact, most implementations allow these orders to be issued in an ex-parte proceeding in which the accused isn't even afforded an opportunity to object or mount a defense.

The proposal in question seeks to allow Congress to deflect responsibility for enacting such horrid laws by essentially punting to the States. Knowing that forcing such immoral and unconstitutional provisions nationwide would not garner enough votes to overcome a filibuster, Senator Murphy instead proposes to bribe States with their own tax money to do his dirty work for him. This is unacceptable.

You may believe your vote on this proposed bill comes at little risk, as Missouri has demonstrated time and again that our General Assembly would not vote to pass such laws. While that may be true, many other states will not have such resolve. If this measure comes to fruition, a vote for it will directly enable the spread of confiscation laws throughout the country, and further normalize support for the eventual disarmament of this nation.

It's reasonable to conclude that not all aspects of Senator Murphy's proposal are objectionable, and bipartisan discussion surrounding any legislation is a healthy part of the process. However, under no circumstances should you allow any bill to advance that contains gun control or firearm confiscation of any kind, no matter how small or indirect it may seem.

Please stand tall and immediately and publicly refuse to support any legislation that incentivizes or encourages the passage of Red Flag laws or gun control of any variety.

Sincerely,

Tony Lovasco State Representative, District 64 Downsizing State

Downsizing State Government

COMMITTEES

Vice Chair: Ways and Means

Vice Chair: Criminal Justice

Government Oversight

michael Davit Church R. Bays **Chuck Basye - House District 47** Michael Davis - House District 56 (hris &)inkins) **Chris Dinkins - House District 144** Mitch Boggs - House District 157 Boh Bromley J Eggleston - House District 2 **Bob Bromley - House District 162 Travis Fitzwater - House District 49 Jason Chipman - House District 120 Rick Francis - House District 145 Bennie Cook - House District 142 David Gregory – House District 96** Jeff Coleman - House District 32 1) are giffen M.C. I. **Dave Griffith - House District 60** Mary Elizabeth Coleman - House District 97 **Derek Grier - House District 100**

Bishop Davidson - House District 130

Mike Haffner - House District 55

Bill Hardwick - House District 122

-Kalberton

Jim Kalberloh - House District 125

Ann Kelley

Ann Kelley - House District 127

Bill Kidd - House District 20

Jeff Knight - House District 129

Edwin S. Lewis

Ed Lewis - House District 6

Andrew McDaniel - House District 150

Mike Mc Suf Mike McGirl - House District 118

Herman E. Morse

Herman Morse - House District 151

Jim Murphy - House District 94

Chad Perkins - House District 40

Brad Pollit - House District 52

Jeff Porter - House District 42

Jan R Jake Pauche

Sean Pouche - House District 13

Carla le & Carpborl

Randy Railsback - House District 8

Shane Roden - House District 111

Don Rone - House District 149

Chris Sander - House District 33

Brian Seitz - House District 156

Nick Schroer - House District 107

Adam Schwadron - House District 106

John Simmons - District 109

Travis Smith - House District 155

Tim Taylor - House District 48

Cheri Loalson Reisch

Cheri Toalson-Reich - House District 44

Sara Walsh - House District 50

Richard West - House District 63

Eric Burlison - Senate District 20

Wie C

Bill Eigel - Senate District 23

Mike Moon – Senate District 29

Bob Onder - Senate District 2