

Volume 7, Week 50 May 7, through May 13, 2012

DAKOTA COUNTY SHERIFFThe Front Row

"A front row seat to the greatest show on Earth..."

Dave Bellows, Sheriff Tim Leslie, Chief Deputy

Featuring Sheriff's Sworn Operations and Detention Services Deputies:

Commanders

John Grant Dan Scheuermann

Captains

Brad Jeska Joe Leko Jim Rogers

Sergeants

Dan Bianconi
Jennifer Cho
Scott Durdall
Pat Enderlein
Jim Gabriel
Booker Hodges IV
Jim Iliff
Bruce Kammen
Chris Melton
Tim Samuelson
Rick Schroeder
Rob Shingledecker

Special Duty Deputies

Brad Billmeyer Terry Ecker Kevin Henriksen Rob Hosking Thomas Jacobson Coreen Kulvich Blake Pederson Matt Schepers Rebecca Sherman Dave Sjogren Matt Wayne Dawanna Witt

Deputy Sheriffs

Scott Bensen Ryan Brown Lonna Broze JoAnne Calhoun Rhonda Doheny Sandy Dose Mike Fendrick Ryan Fitzgerald Tim Fletcher Steve Forrey Tim Gonder

Lucky Times Two...

Deputies responded to two separate crashes resulting in significant damage to the vehicles involved, but miraculously, only minor injuries to the drivers. The first crash occurred May 10th at the intersection of Cedar and 240th Street. The crash resulted after the driver of a dump truck struck the back of a semi as it was making a turn. While the dump truck was heavily damaged, the driver walked away with minor injuries.





Deputies responded to a second crash on May 11th, occurring at the intersection of Highway 3 and County Road 86. In this accident a semi collided with a car and, while the car sustained major damage, the driver, who was wearing their seat belt, was able to walk away with minor The State Patrol injuries. handled the accident and the semi driver was cited. Moral of the story, always wear your seatbelt. **Deputy Tom Hooper** responded to the crash.

Behind the Bars...

The jail population jumped back up after experiencing a decrease over the past few weeks. Over the past week the jail averaged 301 inmates in custody per day, compared with 287 the prior week. The jail boarded an average of 41 inmates per day at other facilities to comply with the rules on capacity.

On the Road...

Deputies in the Transport Division logged over 3,750 miles over the past week moving prisoners. Routine moves accounted for the greatest share of transports. Other moves included 26 picked up on warrant arrests, 29 on writs and court-ordered moves, and 11 transported to St. Cloud to begin prison sentences.

Drug Take-Back...

Last week over 1,100 pounds of old, unused, and unwanted medications from the Prescription Drug Take-Back Program were transported to Alexandria, Minnesota, and



Volume 7, Week 50 May 7, through May 13, 2012

DAKOTA COUNTY SHERIFFThe Front Row

"A front row seat to the greatest show on Earth..."

Dave Bellows, Sheriff Tim Leslie, Chief Deputy

destroyed. The 24/7 take-back program continues to be a success in Dakota County and will be expanded to include many of the other police agencies. Currently, dropoff sites are located at the Burnsville Police Department, West St. Paul Police Department, and outside the Sheriff's Office in Hastings.

Future Law Enforcement Officers...

The DCSO Explorer Post participated recently with from posts Farmington Fire and the Northfield EMS in a 24event "Explorers in Action." Over the course of the 24-hour period, the groups responded to 27 mock calls dealing with medical emergencies, crimes in progress, explosions, lost persons, and a few other everyday calls. training important in gaining experience their in



quest to work in the various professions in public safety. The Dakota Communications Center (DCC) provided a dispatcher to add realism to the calls. Nice job to all the



participants in the exercises and to **Detective Dawanna Witt** for all her work as an advisor to the DCSO group.

Happy Birthday...

Correctional Deputy Tim Parker will be celebrating his birthday on May 25th. Happy Birthday, Tim!

Amber Hentges Bryan Hermerding Art Herrera Tom Hooper Sidney Jones Krystal Johnson John Kane Jeff Leopold Jen Lenarz Brent Lohmann Bruce Lohmann Merle Lohse Kim Mays Mark McKnight Peter Meyer Lester Mitchell Erika Morgan Jon Napper Ryan Olson Mitch Penny Sean Qualy Matt Regis Jon Reiners Josh Sannes Bryce Schuenke Matt Schuster Dan Siebenaler Brian Smidt Phouthaivanh Sourignavong Gordy Steffel Steve Theriault Dmitriy Vecherkov Mike Vikesland Todd West

Questions?
Comments?
Please contact the
Dakota County
Sheriff's Office at
651.438.4700 or any
of the following by
email:

dave.bellows@ co.dakota.mn.us julie.ecker@ co.dakota.mn.us